Writing RTL in Google Docs

What is RTL?

English goes from left to right (LTR), Arabic, Dhivehi/Maldivian, and some other languages go from right to left (RTL). So, RTL is used in right-to-left writing scripts.

Which languages use RTL scripts?

Arabic, Aramaic, Azeri, Dhivehi (Maldivian), Hebrew, Kurdish (Sorani), Persian (Farsi), and Urdu all use scripts that are read and written from right to left. Whoever writes in one of these languages needs this feature extensively.


You can toggle the paragraph direction on the menu bar if you want to write from right to left in Google Docs. Instead, you can use the shortcut given below.


To toggle from LTR to RTL, press Control+Shift+R.
To switch from RTL to LTR, press Control+Shift+L.